top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRising Moon Sisters

Just one of those days... struggles of an empath.

Do you have those “off days” where you simply feel so "open" and emotionally fragile?

I do, especially before my moon time is about to start. Today is one of those days.

I thought it may be nice to share some of my strategies for helping push through these types of days with flow and grace.


This morning, I made the decision to firstly block certain people on my phone for the day as I have no energy available to deal with them. The people I have replied to I let know I am busy and will reply when I am able to (and able to focus also).


Then, I have been tidying and cleaning my little apartment… kind of nesting and assuring my space feels safe and full of comfort and love for me and my girls. This also can mean diffusing some calming essential oils (I am diffusing tranquility by Saje right now that was gifted to me by a client).


Now, what is on the agenda today outside of the home? Maybe nothing; and that is completely ok. I may opt out of an event we had on our calendar for this evening depending how the day goes and how I am feeling. I may just take the girls for a nature walk and then pop into our favourite neighbourhood cafe, Juniper, for a glass of wine or a coffee and treats for the girls later instead. And, that is fine. It is important to make space for other things like rest and healing that you may need in your life. Good friends understand.


I have also decided to tackle a few things on my mental load list to help lighten that load. In fact I try to do this daily and keep the mental load list on a white board in my kitchen to get it off my shoulders and into writing. I try to keep it at maximum 5 things a day. I pick the top 5 most “stressing” things for me and this does not depend on their ease/difficulty of accomplishment. For example, something as simple as taking the garbage out, dishes and sending a much needed email count for one item each. However, if my passion and interest lead me to completing other tasks that are not heavy on my mind or heart… I go with that flow and do not count them to that “to do” list.


Then, taking time for me to sit and breathe throughout the day is also crucial. For example I sat down with my coffee in one of my fave mugs (from BC potter G Ceramic and Co!) and listened to music that is calling to my heart. (right now I am digging the Feist albums on Spotify— The Build Up is my super soulful jam song this morning). Making time for a bath, a cup of tea, a glass of wine, a favourite show or book...these are all also great ways to simply take a few minutes to relax, and unwind/tune out or be mindful.


On days when I am in the "fragile zone" , making time for hugs and physical contact with my girls is also much needed for me. I may be busy puttering however, I still want them to know I am connected and present. Finding something special for my kiddos to do while I nurture myself is also important. Some days screen time is a blessing but I like to mix in other activities too. I actually just set them up with some “potion mixing” supplies. Coloured waters, beads, gems, plastic test tubes and jars. Then they can also forage for clovers, dandelions, leaves and pine needles to add in. This frees up more time for me while they get to create and play on their own. Follow my friend Ali Edwards from The Creation Space YEG for some fantastic inspiration and ideas! She is simply amazing.


Breathe, my lovelies. You are important, your emotional health is important, you are important.


I would love to hear how you tackle your fragile days? Visit us @rising.moon.sisters on Instagram and Facebook and follow along.


xo

Krystal

Rising Moon




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page